Zanzago: the history

Valdobbiadene, center of excellence where the phenomenon of Prosecco developed throughout the centuries, is a small town with a population just over 10,000 people and is made up of different districts.
In 1807, by a decree from Napoleon himself, one of the most famous of these districts, San Pietro di Barbozza, became its own municipality until it was annexed by Valdobbiadene in 1928.
San Pietro di Barbozza has a long and important agricultural history and tradition, which culminates today in the exemplary Prosecco Superiore Valdobbiadene DOCG.
We can therefore assert that this town is the original birthplace of this Prosecco which has developed and become the global phenomenon that we know today.
Originally, what was San Pietro di Barbozza, the cradle of Prosecco?
San Pietro di Barbozza was, as we mentioned, its own municipality originally, which was divided into four ancient districts: Borbozza, Col di Martignago, Saccol, and Zanzago. Today, only the first three of these districts still survive in the toponymy of the area as well-defined neighborhoods within the town.
But Zanzago is missing from the list. Zanzago, according to documentation, was originally the central and biggest of the four districts that make up San Pietro di Barbozza and furthermore, contained the parish itself: the most important point of reference for the local inhabitants of the time. So why then was Zanzago chosen as the name if it has since been lost?
There isn’t an answer and we do not have a careful reconstruction of the documentation passed down either to give us a clear indication.